Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Social Gerontology Course Guide
Key Online Resources
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer-oriented health content, from mainstream to holistic medicine.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Humanities International Complete
Humanities International Complete provides full text of journals, books and other published humanities sources from around the world.
Ageing: A Very Short Introduction by
Publication Date: 2017-12-17
Ageing is an activity we are familiar with from an early age. In this Very Short Introduction Nancy A. Pachana discusses the lifelong dynamic changes in biological, psychological, and social functioning involved in ageing.
Handbook of Minority Aging by
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
This text provides multidisciplinary, and comprehensive information about aging in diverse racial and ethnic populations in the U.S. It focuses on public health issues as they relate to older minority Americans, addressing social, behavioral, and biological concerns, particularly on the needs of four major ethnic groups: Asian/Pacific Islander, Hispanic/Latino, African American, and Native American.
Older Rural Americans by
Publication Date: 2015-01-13
Most social studies of older people in the United States have focused upon problems and conditions encountered in urban centers. In Older Rural Americans sixteen social scientists representing various regions examine in depth the circumstances of older people in rural America, including demographics and cultural contexts.
Social Policy for an Aging Society by
Publication Date: 2015-01-28
This book presents a human rights framework for aging policies, distinguishes between needs and rights of older persons, focuses on policies and programs that can help older people to remain in the community, and explores the issues and challenges of specific older populations.
Wisconsin's Online Library, providing Wisconsin residents with licensed content not available through regular search engines.
eBooks purchased and owned by the Learning Resource Center at WITC. A platform shared with other Technical Colleges of Wisconsin.
Over 37,000 eBooks from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools. To use ebrary, you will set up a personal (no-cost) account and download a free version of Adobe Digital Editions on your device.
Films on Demand
Films On Demand gives faculty and students instant access to thousands of videos neatly grouped into convenient subject-specific categories.
Video database with access to thousands documentaries and features films across all subjects and genres.
Search our databases!